FREE Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Call (855) 425-8122

for FREE insurance quotes by phone
Compare Car Insurance and Read Car Insurance Company Reviews Today!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Wisconsin Car Insurance Laws

Similar to other states in the Union, the State of Wisconsin has its own traffic laws in statute with regards to required vehicle insurance coverage requirements. These laws apply to any drivers operating a vehicle on Wisconsin’s public roads. Make sure you are ensured in the state of Wisconsin by entering your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance comparison tool.

The intent of the minimum insurance coverage laws is to make sure that if someone gets into an accident in Wisconsin while driving, those hurt by the driver have some ability to recover from the related injuries or property damage.

car insurance laws wisconsinIt is good to know the insurance laws in order to say covered and be prepared to avoid violations such as having a license suspended even with car insurance. Many of the state’s laws regarding the matter were updated as recently as 2010.

A number of websites exist today where consumers can search and find out the differences in state insurance requirements as well as what car insurance companies offer consumers. This is searchable by ZIP code in our FREE car insurance tool. For Wisconsin, many of the current coverage requirements are similar to other state jurisdictions.

Specific Legal Requirements

Wisconsin drivers are required to carry some formal proof of car insurance coverage with their vehicle when traveling. This proof is typically obtained from a car insurance company once a policy is approved and in place. While drivers don’t have to flash the document to anyone proactively, if they get pulled over a traffic officer or law enforcement officer will ask to see the proof. Proof of insurance exceptions are made for those drivers operating semi-trailers or trailer type vehicles.

The coverage required must follow specified amounts of insurance that need to be in place.

Drivers can always have car insurance policies in place that provide more coverage, but all existing policies need to at least meet the minimum value amounts specified in Wisconsin state law. The required coverage is broken into three categories as follows:

  • $100,000 coverage to address the medical injury or death of more than one person.
  • $50,000 coverage to address the medical injury or death of one person.
  • $15,000 coverage to address property damage caused by a driver.

Penalties for Violations

Some drivers will still be tempted to operate their cars in Wisconsin without car insurance coverage in place or without carrying proof of insurance on their person while driving. This is a mistake that can result in a painful sting to the wallet or worse.

wisconsin car insurance lawsFirst off, driving without insurance will trigger an initial penalty and fine of $500 per incident when caught. Additionally, lack of proof of insurance can tack on another fine of $10.

Where someone tries to dupe an officer with a fake proof of insurance, that person can be stung with a $5,000 fine.

In addition, many jurisdictions will tack on their own penalties and administrative fees for processing the tickets in court. This can add anywhere from $10 to $500 to a traffic penalty.

Those who are responsible for an accident or injury to a party while driving and get caught without insurance as a result of the traffic accident could be exposed to civil as well as criminal penalties. Additionally, more severe penalties apply where a driver is found to be a second time or repeat offender without car insurance in place.

The state DMV can also administratively require a driver’s license suspension for an extended period of time as well as a valid proof of insurance before reinstating driving privileges again. By this point vehicle insurance coverage for such a driver can become very expensive due to his documented DMV driving record and apparent high risk.

An exception is made where a party is in transit to the state Department of Motor Vehicles to apply for a new driver’s license or to get a vehicle registered. That said, trying to use this reason at 1 am in the morning is likely not going to fly. An officer will likely examine the statement within the context of the time of day and week. Enter your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance tool to find great rates for you.

Comparison websites can offer a good amount of detail with regards to car insurance in different states as well as minimum coverage requirements. Once done finding out the facts on a specific car, readers should enter their ZIP code to compare car insurance online for FREE and what alternatives exist. Viewers may be pleasantly surprised by potential savings.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption