FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Call (855) 425-8122

for FREE insurance quotes by phone
Compare Car Insurance and Read Car Insurance Company Reviews Today!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Kansas Car Insurance Laws

Car insurance laws in the State of Kansas mandate that Kansas is a “No Fault” insurance state. Such laws require that drivers carry insurance to cover their own property and bodily injury claims if they are in an accident. To get affordable auto insurance, enter your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance comparison tool.

If a Kansas driver is in a collision, their own policy covers the damages to their car. Their own personal injury protection policy covers any injuries they may have sustained. Our FREE car insurance tool can help you find the best rates available on plans that will have you covered in Kansas.

State of Kansas Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

Kansas law requires that drivers carry $25,000 in personal injury protection (PIP), $50,000 bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 property damage protection. These minimum coverage limits are 25/50/10 as expressed by car insurance companies. Non-operational vehicles that are not registered and off highway vehicles are not required to carry auto insurance in Kansas.

How are Car Insurance Rates Determined in Kansas

kansas car insurance lawsCar insurance quotes and premiums are determined by a rating system established by the car insurance industry. The rating system rates autos with a number between 3 and 27. The higher the number, the higher the auto insurance premiums are for that particular model of auto.

When considering purchasing a vehicle in Kansas, find out the auto insurance rating number of the vehicle you are considering. You may save a lot of money on your insurance premiums in doing so. On average, Kansas drivers pay about $780 per year in auto insurance premiums, compared to the national average of about $914.

Proof of Insurance in Kansas

Because Kansas requires that drivers carry at least a no fault insurance policy, if a driver is stopped by an officer in Kansas, the officer will most likely ask to see proof of insurance. Proof of insurance is carried by the driver in the form of an insurance card.

The insurance card may be an actual card, or may simply be a piece of paper issued by the insurance carrier that states the name of the insurance company, the policy number and the VIN number of the vehicle.

What is an Insurance Card?

When a driver purchases auto insurance, their insurance carrier provides them with an insurance card. If a policy is purchased online from a company that sells auto insurance over the Internet, the driver is usually able to print out the insurance card immediately after the policy is purchased.

If the driver loses the insurance card, in most cases the insurance carrier will be able to provide them with a replacement, and even make sure the driver is supplied with a temporary card to carry while waiting on the replacement card in the mail. In lieu of a proof of insurance, the driver may carry documents proving proof of financial responsibility.

What Happens if a Driver Does Not Provide Proof of Insurance?

If a driver is stopped and is not able to provide the officer with proof of insurance in Kansas, the officer will issue a citation for no proof of insurance. Driving without insurance in Kansas is a Class B misdemeanor and carries a fine of between $300 and $1000. If the driver does not pay the fine. the driver will receive a penalty of a six-month jail sentence in the county jail.car insurance laws kansas

If the driver is caught within three years for the same offense, the driver faces charges of a Class A misdemeanor and a fine of between $850 and $2500. In addition, the driver may lose their license and vehicle registration.

The driver will also be required to obtain an SR-22, which is a form that certifies coverage with the insurance carrier. If the driver’s license or vehicle registration is suspended, they also will be required to pay a reinstatement fee. It is important for Kansas drivers to always have insurance and keep their proof close at hand.

Shop Around for the Best Auto Insurance Deal

Whether you live in Kansas or another state that requires drivers to carry auto insurance, you can shop around for the best policies and rates for carriers in your area with an online comparison tool.

Online comparison websites offer drivers shopping for car insurance and easy to use tool to compare companies and policies that service their geographical areas.

To use an online insurance comparison site, just open the site in a web browser and enter your ZIP code. A list of insurance providers that sell policies in your area will be displayed. Using this list, you will be able to compare companies, policies and rates of the insurance companies in your area for FREE.

Shopping around for car insurance is the best way to get the best deal for your unique situation. Be sure to use an online comparison tool when shopping for car insurance. Our FREE car insurance comparison tool is available right now when you enter your ZIP code!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

[0-9]
[0-9]