Compare Car Insurance and Read Car Insurance Company Reviews Today!

Call (855) 425-8122

for FREE insurance quotes by phone

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

or call (855) 425-8122 for free quotes

Nevada Car Insurance Laws

If an individual owns a car, it is logical that one must have car insurance. Different states may have varied requirements for car insurance. before deciding on a policy, know all the facts and information concerning the insurance laws in your state. Enter your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance comparison tool to find the best rates possible and make sure you meet the minimum requirements.

By doing so, you will not only protect yourself better, but have in mind the choices available. If one resides in Nevada, these are some of the things you need to know. Enter your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance search feature to find quotes from multiple companies available to you! Our car insurance guide can give you the best rates available.

Liability Insurance

In the state of Nevada, every car must have a liability insurance policy which amounts to $15,000 for physical injury, death of an individual in an accident, $30,000 or death of two or many people in any given accident and $10,000 for injury to or damage of other property.

Nevada requires all motorists to have a policy from a firm that is licensed and registered with the insurance division.

In Nevada State, every driver must have a proof of financial responsibility at all times. This is to mean the state has the powers to ask for documentation showing that one has valid coverage from auto insurance companies that will cover any individual or property damage he or she may cause in a car accident.car insurance laws nevada

Driving Uninsured

The state has an insurance authentication program in place. The insurance authentication program is a combined campaign among state approved insurance agencies and the department of motor vehicle. Once they identify a vehicle that is uninsured, the authentication process starts.

In the event that the owner of the vehicle does to give response in a span of 20 days to place a request to the state of Nevada, the vehicle registration is suspended and the owner has to either reinstate or give up the plate. Response to a request is made through Nevada’s online insurance authentication response or through the mail.

Minimum Requirements

When an individual acquires automobile in Nevada, his or her policy has to include minimum liability coverage of;

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of others property
  • $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people in any one accident, and
  • $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident

Rental Car Insurance Requirements

It is not within the law in Nevada to operate any kind of motor vehicle without insurance, rental cars included. Rental cars must have the minimum liability coverages needed by Nevada state laws. It is vital to bear in mind that a number of Nevada’s auto insurance policies include rental cars.

A number of credit cards cover car rentals ensure that one check his or her insurance policy or confirm with his or her credit card issuer. If an individual find out that his or her credit card or auto insurance policy is not inclusive of rental cars, one needs to purchase car rental insurance from the car rental firm. It only costs an extra amount of $7-$14 a day.

Uninsured and Under Insured Coverage

nevada car insurance lawsUnder insured or uninsured motorist’s coverage is compulsory in the state of Nevada; however, the state highly needs all motorists to purchase additional coverage for safety.

Coverage in the Same Household

In Nevada State, auto insurance firms can write policies which do not include household members. This exclusion is outlined in the exclusion section which comes along with a list of all the likely situations that may free the insurance firm from the obligation of paying a claim. It is vital to keenly check your auto insurance policy before making the decision of appending your signature on the forms.

Personal Credit and Car Insurance

In Nevada State, auto insurance firms may use personal credit background to establish the rates and offers for products. To be able to enjoy a reduced insurance premium, clear your bills in a good time in a bid to improving scores on your credit. This may also aid in improving your credit background so that in the long term, you are able to save some money on your insurance premium.

In as much as the insurance firms can use personal credit background as a system to establish the rates, a wide majority of auto insurance firms do not apply the use of personal credit background alone. They may also factor in age, gender, car make and model, where you live, how much you drive and your driving history.

No Fault or Tort State

Nevada sate goes through a Tort System. This means, in an event where an individual is involved in an accident, he or she has to be found to be the cause or to blame for the accident. The person to blame is responsible for damage caused.

Damages are normally taken care of through the at-fault person’s insurance firm because Nevada is a tort state.

A number of insurance companies require that drivers should consider carrying higher coverages than the state minimum. Find multiple levels of coverage available from multiple companies when you enter your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance comparison tool.

As from 2006, residents of Nevada have had an average insurance premium of approximately $1,006, which is the 9th most expensive. This is about 2.1% from the past year that had an average of $817. Find affordable premiums when you enter your ZIP code into our FREE auto insurance comparison tool today!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

or call (855) 425-8122 for free quotes