FREE Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Call (888) 497-0098

for FREE insurance quotes by phone
Compare Car Insurance and Read Car Insurance Company Reviews Today!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Vermont Car Insurance Laws

The state of Vermont has laws that mandate coverage both for property damage and bodily injury. Optional car insurance types are also available to guard the financial stability of motorists. To see your coverage options and make an informed decision, enter your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance comparison tool.

Car owners are not compelled to produce insurance coverage for purposes of vehicle registration, but, they must carry a present insurance card in the car at all times. Once you are done finding out the facts about your car, enter your ZIP code to compare car insurance online and get a quote with our FREE comparison tool.

Compulsory Liability Coverage

The state of Vermont requires that drivers acquire liability insurance to cover damage to other people’s property and bodily injury to other persons. The liability coverage requirements for Vermont were effected in 2001. The liability insurance coverage amounts for car insurance quotes mandated by state law are as follows:

  • $25000/$50000 bodily injury liability
  • $25000 per accident for property damage

Tort System

Vermont lacks a no-fault car insurance program, but, rather uses the old tort system for establishing who pays for damage in the event of a car accident. With the tort system a person is determined to be responsible for damages and his/her insurance company handles payment for the damage caused. Since Vermont is a tort state, most auto insurance companies would recommend that drivers carry extra coverage above the state minimums.

Optional Coverage in Vermont

As an addition to compulsory liability insurance, different types of optional coverage exist:

  • Collision Insurance – This covers repair costs required for the car.
  • Comprehensive Coverage – This type of cover offers refunds to a policyholder in the event of car theft.
  • Medical Payments Insurance – This provides coverage to injured persons in a car accident, and pays for medical expenses without regard to fault.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage – This type of coverage provides adequate protection against accidents with uninsured and/or underinsured drivers.

Proof of Coverage

The state of Vermont does not utilize the motor vehicle registration system to enforce liability insurance requirements, and car owners are not required to offer any evidence of insurance coverage if they intend to register a vehicle. However, motorists must have a prevailing insurance card in their vehicles every time. A Mississippi driver could show financial responsibility by:

  • Giving evidence of liability coverage
  • Posting a bond
  • Making a securities or cash deposit in the same figures as the minimum liability insurance requirements for property damage and bodily injury

Drivers who fail to produce evidence of insurance could be subject to a fine of $1000. The motor vehicle registration could be suspended for a year or until the owner of the vehicle gets liability coverage.

DUI Laws in Vermont

Vermont experiences the highest number of fatal car accident rates in the country; 40% of which are alcohol- related. Vermont is fighting to end the ominous trend, and so drivers are more likely to face conviction, fines, jail time and license suspensions if caught driving under the influence. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in the state of Mississippi with a BAC or blood alcohol level of 0.08% and above. Enhanced sentences exist for situations where a BAC of 0.15% is exceeded.

, a 90 day administrative license suspension is imposed for a first offense. A restricted license may be granted only in rare circumstances, such as when a license suspension would cause someone to be suspended from school or to lose a job. In addition, one may apply for a limited license if he/she must obtain medical care on a regular basis.

A DUI offense in the state of Vermont carries a fine of $250-$1000 and ones license would be suspended for at least 90 days. A person may be compelled to spend 48 hours of jail time and enroll in a program for alcohol awareness. A second offense carries a minimum of a 5-day prison term, which could extend to 12 months.

In addition, one will pay a fine of up to $1500 and his/her driver’s license will be suspended for 36 months. Third and fourth DUI offenses in Vermont will not be accepted. One will get charged with a felony, which bears a 1-5 year prison term, vehicle forfeiture, a 5 year license suspension, and $2000-$5000 in fines.

Graduated Driver License Requirements in Vermont

Graduated licensing applies to teens of between ages 15 and 16. In order to be allowed to operate a motor vehicle, a 15 year old must possess a valid learner’s permit and he/she must be accompanied either by a parent, a guardian or a mature driver instructor. The designated driver must occupy the seat adjacent to the driver at all times.

The subsequent step in the GDL system for Vermont is the acquisition of an intermediate license. A person must be at least 15 ½ years old to get a ‘Class Y’ or intermediate license and he/she must carry the license for at least six months. Under the intermediate license terms, teens are allowed to drive without supervision only between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.

In order to get a learner’s license, the following documents must be availed to the Vermont department of Motor Vehicles:

  • Evidence of identity
  • Social security card
  • Proof of residence
  • Certified copy of birth certificate
  • Signature of parent on the application
  • Proof of school enrollment
  • Learner’s Permit fee of $4

Similar documentation is needed in order for one to obtain an intermediate license in addition to a fee of $6. Unrestricted drivers licenses can be obtained by persons above the age of 16 who have held their intermediate licenses for a period of at least 6 months. Enter your ZIP code into our FREE auto insurance tool to find cheap policies that will have you covered!

With the above information you are steps ahead in your quest to find appropriate car insurance in Vermont. Once you are done establishing facts on your car, enter your ZIP code into our FREE comparison tool to compare car insurance online.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption