FREE Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Call (888) 497-0098

for FREE insurance quotes by phone
Compare Car Insurance and Read Car Insurance Company Reviews Today!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Delaware Car Insurance Laws

Each state in the United States of America has auto insurance laws that guide policyholders and the insurance providers. When it comes to getting car insurance quotes online from insurance companies, it is crucial for one to be aware of these laws. Our FREE auto insurance comparison tool can give you rate quotes when you enter your ZIP code now! They help a person know both mandatory and voluntary auto insurance requirements, apart from prudently choosing a policy that suits ones needs.

Mandatory Auto Insurance Laws in Delaware

In Delaware State, a person has to carry the lowest or minimum auto liability before registering in the state. The lowest auto insurance liability levels are $30,000 for death or personal injury of more than one person, $10,000 for damage to property and $15,000 for death or injury to one person.

The above amounts constitute the Minimum Liability Coverage for death or bodily injury for each person per accident. Every Delaware driver has to have evidence of at least the minimum auto insurance coverage.

Law on Rental Car Insurance

It is an offense in this state to drive motor vehicle without the minimum liability. This law covers car rentals. If a person’s credit card or the present auto insurance excludes car rentals, Delaware State demands that one should have a copy of the rental agreement when he or she is renting a motor vehicle. The rental firms must offer minimum liability amount of insurance coverage.

Rules Pertaining to Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage

delaware car insurance lawsThis coverage is not necessary in this state. However, every insurance company must by law offer to sell this policy. If one chooses not to have the policy, then he or she will have to sign a waiver that states the decision not to have UIM and UM coverage.

Rules on Exclusion from Coverage

It is normal practice for the insurance companies not to include the driver in a policy for many reasons stipulated by the law.

The policy or endowment must state such exclusions. The coverage for the driver is not applicable while a specially excluded driver can still drive the vehicle. It is, therefore, vital to know the entire driver policy restrictions.

Rules on Prior Insurance

If ones auto insurance lapses or cancels for some reason, the state’s DMV will get a notice from the insurance company. The fines for driving a motor vehicle without insurance are extremely harsh. The amount to be paid ranges from $100 to $1,500 for the first offense while repeat offenses can reach $3,000.

Rules on Personal Credit History

In Delaware State, the Personal Credit History determines ones rates. However, this is not the only determining factor. Age, driving record and area of residence also determines the rates. Another factor is the vehicle type one drives.

Law on Drinking Under Influence

The fines and penalties for driving under the influence in this state are extremely severe. They also increase as the offender’s blood alcohol concentration level also increases. For the level of 0.15%, the license risks suspension of 2 to 3 years. One also carries compulsory jail term of minimum 60 days. One can face a charge of driving under influence if he or she seems impaired. This is regardless of whether ones BAC level is 0.07% or even lower.

car insurance laws delawareIt is also unlawful in this state to drive a motor vehicle with BAC level of 0.08%, or higher. Sentence adjustment exists for those having higher BAC level.

Driving under influence sentence in the state is a felony when it happens within 5 years of the preceding two misdemeanors. The third DUI conviction has one to two years obligatory jail term, interlock, and suspension for a period of two to three years.

The first time offenders have their licenses withdrawn for a period of one year. One can have the suspension period reduced under the First Offender Program Election. The jail term runs for a period of 60days to six months while the penalties range from $230 to $1, 150. For the second offense, the license risks suspension for 18 months if the BAC level was less than 0.15%, or one refused test for chemicals.

Delaware Teen Auto Insurance Laws

Many teens have died in the state of Delaware because of accidents. The state is concerned with these deaths and many laws exist to stop the fatalities. One of them is Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL.) It means that there is prolonged period of learning for teen drivers. The parent, sponsor or a licensed driving school or instructor should oversee this learning. The state expects the teens to strictly follow the law.

In the state, drivers who are under 18 years of age and having a level one permit for learner for a period of less than six months have restrictions. He or she cannot drive a motor vehicle from 10pm to 6am. This is unless a legal guardian or a parent accompanies him or her. To get affordable insurance protection for your teen, enter your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance comparison tool now.

In Delaware, teens of 18 years or under, driving under permit for learners should not use any hand-held device. If a minor uses a cell phone while he is driving; he loses the license for a minimum period of 30 days. The second offenders will lose license for 90 days.

Delaware is a tort state. The driver at fault during the accident, together with his or her insurance company is responsible for the claims arising. In summary, it is necessary to know these laws when getting quotes from insurance providers online. By entering your ZIP code, you can get access to FREE quotes now with our web comparison tool.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption