Compare Car Insurance and Read Car Insurance Company Reviews Today!

Call (855) 425-8122

for FREE insurance quotes by phone

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

or call (855) 425-8122 for free quotes

Wyoming Car Insurance Laws

Every state has laws and regulations. Wyoming is no different. The car insurance industry states that liability limits for bodily injury be $300,000 per occurrence and $100,000 per person. The knowledge of the state’s laws will help you look for the best quotes from insurance companies. Use our FREE auto insurance comparison tool with your ZIP code in order to find the best rates possible.

Wyoming’s obligatory car liability insurance law states that any person driving motor vehicle has to buy the obligatory lowest limits of liability. Make sure you are covered at the best rates by entering your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance comparison tool! The state’s law mandates that car insurance policy quotes should provide the following:

Liability Minimums Requiredwyoming car insurance laws

  • $20,000 for each accident for property.
  • $50,000 for each accident for bodily injury.
  • $25,000 for each person for bodily injury.

Underinsured/Uninsured Motorist Coverage

The insured motorists concerned with being involved in an accident with uninsured motorist can buy this voluntary coverage to make sure they cover for their losses.

Medical Payments Coverage (MPC)

This optional coverage from car insurance companies pays for realistic expenses to one’s passengers who incur loses from a motor vehicle accident injury. This is regardless of fault. The coverage fee differs from company to company. One may wish to buy it if he or she does not have health insurance, or to complement the health insurance he or she has.

Collision/ Comprehensive

The following are the mandatory auto insurance laws that exist in Wyoming State.

  • Any person operating a motor vehicle on highways and roads has to possess auto insurance.
  • It is mandatory to have proof of liability coverage for all motorists at all times.
  • It is an offence in the state of Wyoming to drive without insurance. If arrested for driving without insurance, then he or she has to pay a minimum penalty of $ 250 to a maximum of $ 750. In other cases, one might be committed to a jail term. For second offender, they have to pay from $500 to $ 1500, and the offence could land one in jail.
The comprehensive insurance safeguards one against damage to the car from flood, theft, glass damage among others while collision insurance pays for car’s damage caused by another car, a rollover, or an object.

Rental Car Insurance Requirements

In Wyoming State, it is an offence to drive motor vehicle without car insurance. This requirement includes rental cars. The rental cars have to carry the lowest liability coverage needed by the state’s law. It is vital to know that majority of Wyoming auto insurance policies incorporate car rentals. Majority of credit cards also cover rentals.

Therefore, one has to check his or her auto insurance policy and/or check with the issuer of credit card. If one discovers his or her insurance policy do not cover the rental cars, then it is a requirement to buy the insurance from the rental company. This will cost an extra amount of $7-$14 per day.

Underinsured/ Uninsured Motorist Coverage

The coverage is not necessary in Wyoming State since it is a Tort state. Majority of insurance companies advocate that drivers should carry higher coverage that the state lowest coverage.car insurance laws wyoming

Coverage of Drivers in the Same Household

It is lawful to bar a member of one’s household from his or her policy. It is also lawful for the auto insurance company to issue a policy excluding household members considered high-risk going by their driving history. It also has a list of circumstances and people that would liberate the company from the liability of paying claim. It is vital to check out before committing oneself to auto insurance policy since household exclusion means the person excluded will not get insurance under any circumstance.

Rules Regarding Prior Insurance

A person who lets his or her auto insurance to lapse in Wyoming State will force the insurance company to alert the Wyoming DMV. Once alerted, the DMV will have to suspend the license immediately. When the license is suspended, then one is required to present evidence of financial responsibility and to remit a $ 50 fee for reinstatement. The SR22 is necessary for three years beginning from the date of suspension. Failure to uphold the evidence of insurance for three years results in re-suspension of the driving license.

Rules on Personal Credit History

It is lawful for auto insurance companies to utilize Personal Credit History in order to decide the products they will offer as well as rates. The Personal Credit History can determine whether one will make quarterly or monthly payments will pay the whole premium upfront. It is useful in generating an “insurance risk score.” The insurance companies also consider gender, age where one lives and the driving record.

An insurance risk score helps to determine a person’s insurance rates. To enjoy a low insurance premium, one should pay his or her bills on time in order to improve on the score.

Tort or No Fault State

Wyoming State follows Tort System. This means that I one is involved in accident; someone must be responsible for the fault or cause of the accident. The person who is guilty of fault or accident is responsible for all the damages. The guilty person’s insurance company should handle all the damages and claims. Be prepared for the road with affordable auto insurance protection by using our FREE car insurance comparison tool with your ZIP code!

Since Wyoming is a Tort state, majority of insurance companies advocate drivers to carry higher coverage that the state’s minimum coverage.

With these Wyoming auto insurance laws and regulations in mind, one should check online to get the best insurance quotes from different insurance companies. Our FREE car insurance comparison tool can give you great quotes from multiple insurance companies when you enter your ZIP code!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

or call (855) 425-8122 for free quotes