FREE Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Call (888) 497-0098

for FREE insurance quotes by phone
Compare Car Insurance and Read Car Insurance Company Reviews Today!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Minnesota Car Insurance Laws

If an individual owns a car, it is logical that one must have car insurance. Since different states may have varied requirements for insurance, one must know all the facts and information concerning the insurance laws in the state you are residing in. Enter your ZIP code to learn the minimums of auto insurance in your area and get FREE car insurance quotes.

By doing so, you will not only protect yourself better, but have in mind the choices available to you. Enter your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance comparison tool now to get a quote from car insurers! If one resides in Minnesota, these are some of the things you need to know.

minnesota car insurance lawsMinimum Liability Insurance

In the state of Minnesota, every car must have liability insurance which amounts to $15,000 for physical injury, death of an individual in an accident, $30,000 or death of two or many people in any given accident, and $10,000 for injury or damage to other property.

Minnesota requires all motorists to have a policy from a firm that is licensed and registered with the insurance division.

In Minnesota State, every driver must have a proof of financial responsibility at all times.

This means the state has the powers to ask for documentation showing that one has a valid auto insurance policy that will cover any individual or property damage he or she may cause in a car accident.

The state has an insurance authentication program in place. The insurance authentication program is a combined campaign among state approved insurance agencies and the department of motor vehicle. Once they identify a vehicle that is uninsured, the authentication process starts.

In the event that the owner of the vehicle does to give response in a span of 20 days to place a request to the state of Minnesota, the vehicle registration is suspended and the owner has to either reinstate or give up the plate. Response to request is made through Minnesota’s online insurance authentication response or through the mail.

Rental Car Insurance Requirements

It is not within the law in Minnesota to operate any kind of motor vehicle without insurance, rental cars included. Rental cars must have the minimum liability coverage needed by Minnesota state laws. It is vital to bear in mind that a number of Minnesota’s auto insurance policies include rental cars.

A number of credit cards cover car rentals ensure that one check his or her insurance policy or confirm with his or her credit card issuer. If an individual find out that his or her credit card or auto insurance policy is not inclusive of rental cars, one need to purchase car rental insurance from the car rental firm. It only costs an extra amount of $7-$14 a day.

Uninsured and Under-Insured Motorist Coverage

car insurance laws minnesotaUnder-insured or uninsured motorist’s coverage is compulsory in the state of Minnesota; however, the state highly needs all motorists to purchase additional coverage for safety.

In Minnesota State, auto insurance firms can write policies which do not include household members. This exclusion is outlined in the exclusion section which comes along with a list of all the likely situations that may free the insurance firm from the obligation of paying a claim. It is vital to keenly check your auto insurance policy.

Whether a Driver Has Prior Insurance

In the event that one’s auto insurance lapses, a person is not covered. In Minnesota, if one is found driving without insurance his or her vehicle registration is immediately suspended.

In Minnesota, auto insurance firms may use personal credit background to establish the rates and offers for products. To be able to enjoy a reduced insurance premium, clear your bills in a good time in a bid to improving scores on your credit.

This may also aid in improving your credit background so that in the long term, you are able to save some money on your insurance premium. In as much as the insurance firms can use personal credit background as a system to establish the rates, a wide majority of auto insurance firms do not apply the use of personal credit background alone. They may also factor in age, gender, car make and model, where you live, how much you drive and your driving history.

No Fault or Tort State

Minnesota sate goes through a Tort System. This means, in an event where an individual is involved in an accident, he or she has to be found to be the cause or to blame for the accident. The person to blame is responsible for damage caused.

Damages are normally taken care of through the at-fault person insurance firm. That is because Minnesota is a Tort State. A number of insurance companies require that drivers should consider carrying higher coverage than the state minimum. To find different amounts of coverage at low prices, enter your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance tool!

As from 2006, residents of Minnesota have had an average insurance premium of approximately $1,006, which is the 9th most expensive .This is about 2.1% from the past year that had an average of $817. Enter your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance comparison tool to avoid paying unnecessarily high insurance rates.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption