FREE Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Call (888) 497-0098

for FREE insurance quotes by phone
Compare Car Insurance and Read Car Insurance Company Reviews Today!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Connecticut Car Insurance Laws

Every state has independent operation laws. These are inclusive of those pertaining the purchase and ownership of car insurance. If you are new in Connecticut or have plans of purchasing your vehicle in this state, you have to understand the Connecticut auto insurance requirements. Mentioned below are some of the mandatory auto insurance laws in Connecticut.

In Connecticut, every driver must have minimum liability insurance. The minimum levels are $20, 00 bodily injury liability maximum for an individual injured in an accident, $40,000 bodily liability maximum for all injuries in an accident, $10, 00 property damage liability maximum for an accident, and joined $20,000/$40,000 of uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury. Enter your ZIP code into our FREE auto insurance comparison tool to get rate quotes for your area.

Every driver in Connecticut must show proof of a valid insurance when placing an application to register a vehicle. You will not register your vehicle without an insurance card. The state requires every driver to show evidence of insurance coverage every time. Our FREE car insurance comparison tool can help you meet state requirements and get you a car insurance quote that offers great protection when you enter your ZIP code.

Available Minimum Liability Coverage

In the event that you purchase an automobile in Connecticut, you must have an inclusion of minimum liability coverage as follows:

  • 10,000 property damage liability maximum for one accident
  • $40,000 bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident
  • $20,000 bodily injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident
  • Combined $20,000/$40,000 of uninsured/underinsured motorists bodily injury

car insurance laws connecticutRental Car Insurance Requirements

In Connecticut, it is not within the law to drive a motor vehicle if you do not have the minimum liability. This also includes rental cars. When your auto insurance policy does not include car rentals, Connecticut State will need you to have a copy of the rental car arrangement when renting a motor vehicle. Normally, insurance received through rental firms costs an extra $7-$14 for a day.

Rules Regarding Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Connecticut State joined underinsured/uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage is needed in the sum of $20,000/$40,000. Unisured motorist bodily injured have to be sold with the same limits as bodily injury liability, though drivers may buy added optional coverage of up to a sum of double the bodily injury liability coverage.

Rules with Regard to the Exclusion from Coverage of a Driver living in Household

The state law of Connecticut will not require a driver to outline every member in the household on your insurance policy, though a number of insurance firms in Connecticut may need you to do that. In the event that a household member is not included on the policy and he/she gets involved in an accident, the insurance firm can deny the claim within the law.

Rules Regarding Whether a Driver has Prior Insurance or Insurance lapses

In Connecticut, when your insurance has expired or lapsed having registered a vehicle with the state, the insurance firm should give a notification to DMV. The DMV will intern bring it to the attention of the registered owner of the vehicle that he/she requires to show proof of insurance or be issued with a charge of $200.

Rules with Regard to Use of Personal Credit History

Personal credit history could be used as a rating tool in the state of Connecticut. Insurance firms may also factor in the driving record, your area of residence, age and the model of the car to establish rates. Having a clean driving history and a valid credit implies that you will get reduced rates.

No Fault or Tort State

connecticut car insurance lawsConnecticut is one of the Tort states. Therefore, that implies that the defaulting driver will have to pay the victims medical fees and the victim can file a court claim against the driver determined to be responsible for the accident for any other damages with inclusion of pain and suffering and even for wages that are lost.

Once every member of the household buys minimum amounts of liability coverage and uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage, then you will automatically comply with the Connecticut auto insurance rules and regulation.

In addition, buying the minimum amount of coverage is always the smartest thing to do. In the event of a road accident, you will have to incur hefty amounts of money.

Ways to Save on Car Insurance

When you are thinking of buying a car, ensure that you understand the Connecticut auto insurance laws. The next step entails going through several quotes from different insurance firms. The higher the number of insurance quotes you have the greater your chances of getting a good deal. Our FREE auto insurance tool can help you compare rates when you enter your ZIP code. Ask all the questions about things you are not conversant with, and confirm which discounts you will be eligible to, and that there are no hidden charges.

Having keenly checked on all the details, you should ensure that you are responsible with your driving so as to keep a clean driving history. With a clean driving which is because clean history, it becomes easier to get discounts. Lastly, consider the car model you are choosing. Insurance companies factor in a lot on the car model that you are insuring. This is in terms of the cost of an accident. Enter your ZIP code into our FREE car insurance comparison tool to see quotes available to you now!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption