FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Call (855) 425-8122

for FREE insurance quotes by phone
Compare Car Insurance and Read Car Insurance Company Reviews Today!

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Arkansas Car Insurance Laws

Arkansas is under a tort system, so those who cause damages and injuries to others while driving must be able to take financial responsibility for them. They also must be able to prove to the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) that they have taken the steps to be able arkansas car insurance lawsto afford to pay for the injuries and damages they cause. If they cannot do this, they will not be able to title and register their cars with the OMV. Easily compare FREE quotes online just by entering your ZIP code into the field!

If Arkansas drivers were to decide that obtaining car insurance is too expensive or too much trouble, they may allow their policies lapse. These people must remember that the only time that they are required to present proof of car insurance is not just when they are registering their vehicles with OMV. Enter your ZIP code into our FREE auto insurance comparison tool to compare car insurance quotes now.

Arkansas Drivers Must Show Proof of Car Insurance

Always have a guide for car insurance when preparing to purchase and get out on the road. According to Arkansas car insurance laws, drivers must also carry proof of insurance with them whenever they are driving their vehicles.

They will need to present this proof to the law enforcement officer who stops them for whatever reason. If they cannot do this, Arkansas has penalties set up for these people.

People who are driving without car insurance can cause an accident. This would be just one more time that people will need to present their proof of insurance. Those who were determined to be the at-fault driver who could not show that they had purchased liability insurance are also subject to penalties.

The Arkansas Insurance Database

Arkansas is very serious about its drivers maintaining a car insurance policy. Arkansas is so determined to keep tabs on its drivers and their car insurance that they maintain the Arkansas Insurance Database. All Arkansas drivers’ insurance information is maintained in this database, and it is updated regularly when changes are made.

The Arkansas Insurance Database Will Be Updated When:

  • New car insurance policies are purchased
  • Vehicles are added to a policy that already exists
  • A car insurance policy is reinstated
  • A car insurance company decides not to renew the policy
  • The car insurance company decides to cancel a policy

Everything will be reported to the Arkansas Insurance Database, so if a car insurance policy lapses, it will be known to anyone who checks the database. Therefore, Arkansas drivers must remember that they cannot forgo purchasing and maintaining the liability coverage on their vehicles that Arkansas requires.

What Arkansas Requires of Its Drivers

car insurance laws arkansasFor the moment, all Arkansas requires is that its drivers maintain 25/50/25 coverage. The first number means they must have $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage. This insurance will pay medical bills as well as funeral costs for one person injured in a car crash the policy holder has caused.

The second number also pertains to bodily injury liability coverage. It means that drivers must have $50,000 to pay for bodily injuries for everyone injured or killed in the entire accident.

Property Damage Liability Coverage

The last number corresponds to $25,000. Arkansas drivers must have this amount of money available for the property damages they cause in the car collision. The property damaged could be other vehicles, the city’s property or the property of people in the area where the accident occurred.

Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Arkansas

If Arkansas drivers read this article and decide that they will take their chances driving without car insurance, they must be prepared to accept the penalties Arkansas has in place. For their first offense of driving without car insurance, the OMV may suspend their registrations. They will also be required to pay a fine that will be between $50 and $250.

The Second Offense

Sometimes, people do not learn the first time. The second offense will increase the fine to between $500 and $1,000. Arkansas takes this offense so seriously that drivers are even susceptible to being given a one-year jail sentence.

The consequences do not end with the penalties people are given by the OMV and the courts. In order to reinstate their licenses, they will have to purchase liability coverage. The car insurance company they go to for liability coverage after being caught driving without car insurance will be extremely expensive.

Obtaining Car Insurance after Driving Uninsured

One of the hardest groups of drivers to insure is those who have driven without car insurance. These are people who are willing to risk causing an accident while driving uninsured. They are risking their financial well-being because they may be taken to court and sued by the injured parties.

These people are also risking the penalties that the courts will give them after they have caused a collision. Anyone who is willing to risk all of this by driving without car insurance will be quoted the highest car insurance rates if they are offered a policy at all. Avoid suffering these expensive consequences, and enter your ZIP code for free quotes now!

Don’t Risk Driving Uninsured

Arkansas drivers cannot hide their failure to purchase car insurance, so they should not try to drive uninsured. Instead of doing this, they can use our website to compare many quotes from the Arkansas car insurance companies and agencies that have liability coverage for them at reasonable prices.

They may be able to purchase their insurance policies online the very same day and have proof to present to the OMV and anyone else who asks for it. The FREE comparison feature is located very conveniently on this website, and only requires that people enter their ZIP codes to receive several free quotes.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

[0-9]
[0-9]